Thursday, December 2, 2010

What time is it in China?

Well, technically, it is just one time all across the vast country. By political policy, China maintains a single time zone, which is eight hours ahead of the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+8). Before the Chinese Civil War in 1949 there were five time zones in China.

Although all jurisdictions within the region are placed under the same time zone, for historical and political reasons, different jurisdictions keep their own time standard with their own names.

* The People's Republic of China maintains the time standard called Beijing Time domestically but is commonly referred to as China Standard Time internationally.
* In Hong Kong, the standard is called Hong Kong Time.
* In Macau, the standard is called Macau Standard Time.
* In Taiwan, the standard is officially called National Standard Time but has been commonly referred to as Chungyuan Standard Time , Taipei Time , and since late 2000s Taiwan Standard Time.

No comments: